“Full of love” – an interview with Lindsay Elisabeth

Screen Shot 2016-07-13 at 11.51.56 AM(All photos from Lindsay’s instagram)

Recently I had the amazing opportunity to interview Lindsay Elizabeth the creator of the blog Seeking Scintilla. A 19 year old girl living in the amazing Brooklyn NY. She is currently completing her degree at University with a major in engineering. Her blog was one of the first blogs here that I found and connected with. She has such an amazing incredible voice that comes out through her writing. Especially for people, which is basically everyone, who are feeling lost in their life. I am in a time in my life where I am graduating high school and I have no idea want career path I want to commit to. Lindsay’s blog has helped make me feel as if there are people out there who are also going through the same thing. She is an awesome place in her life now it seems with a new job and a fresh start ! Here are the questions that I asked her in the interview:

What got you into blogging?

Well originally my friend and I started a lifestyle blog together, whichScreen Shot 2016-07-13 at 11.55.40 AM went well for a few months but then we went on break from school last year and never continued. Then this past January I decided that I missed it. I missed having the creative outlet. I treat my blog as an online diary of sorts, and I missed being able to share my thoughts. And with that SeekingScintilla was born !

How does it feel to share such personal thoughts and experiences with the blogging world?

Honestly, it’s freeing. I worried at first about putting my real name or attaching a picture. I had this fear of not keeping myself anonymous, but I’ve since overcome it. The blogging community is so kind and supportive that when I post, I feel like I’m sharing my thoughts with distant friends. And sometimes that’s easier for me than having to voice my thoughts out loud.

Do you find it easier to talk about these thoughts online as opposed to friends/family in real life?

In some respects I do. Although I’m incredibly close to my friends and my mom, I have always found it difficult to open up completely. Even growing up I wasn’t the type to share my crushes and all my thoughts with my girlfriends. As I’ve gotten older I’ve outgrown that, but still have difficulty sharing my fears with those I love. That’s where the internet comes in.

Screen Shot 2016-07-13 at 11.56.48 AM

It seems as if there is sometimes regret coming through on your blog – is this from your choices in college, not pursuing certain things?

A little bit of both. I wish I had explored more majors before jumping into engineering. And now that I’m in this major I wish I had worked harder at it.

Do you have any advice or tips with people struggling with that?

I would tell them take a good look at their interests and what they’re good at, and explore majors accordingly. Don’t feel pressured to go into a certain field. And once they’re in school, I’d tell them not to slack. In college we’re treated as adults, no guidance from the professors. It’s not like high school where the teachers walk you through the school year. And as soon as you fall behind it’s incredibly hard to catch up.

So what are your plans now?

Screen Shot 2016-07-13 at 11.58.47 AM

Funny you should ask. I had a summer internship doing mechanical engineering, but today, after having worked there for only a couple weeks, it fell through. Luckily while I was ranting about the situation to a good friend of mine, she offered me a job at her current work. Crazy, right? So I lost a job and within the hour had gained a new one. Now I’ll be working at a lighting company, doing who know’s what. I’ll have to wait and see.

If you could use three words to describe your life what would they be?

Full of love.

Check out Lindsay’s links down below:

https://seekingscintilla.wordpress.com/

https://www.instagram.com/lindsayelisabethh/

Screen Shot 2016-07-09 at 8.43.34 PM

6 Comments

Leave a Reply

