Veganism – oh so many thoughts

Screen Shot 2016-06-06 at 2.39.21 PM

As embarrassing as this is to admit I truly believe that you cannot grow unless you are open about your failures.

I have been vegan – twice.

The first time was a transition from eating no red meat to then cold turkey a vegan diet. It lasted for maybe 5 months – which is a long time for when you are first starting out on something new. The thing is, I was oh so so excited when I first made the transition. It was great – I made all my own meals and for the most part my parents weren’t too against it. That being said they weren’t all for it. So here I am a little vegan for quite a while but eventually the love and passion began to fade. My diet became everyone’s bloody business and when there is no one who understands what you are doing you can feel extremely alienated. Not to mention the horrible feeling that you are a burden to whomever invites you over for dinner. Furthermore,Β when you are still living at home and in high school well its difficult because you don’t want you parents to have to spend extra money on you and your “special foods”. Additionally, being vegan can get lonely – when literally no one you know in person understands. They all say “wow I could never give up X” – whether its bacon or cheese.

Even so, the benefits of being vegan are amazing ! And trust me I totally understand the environmental footprint, the ethical footprint and the health benefits.

I am in a complete battle with myself – I love the idea of being vegan but to actually be vegan is a whole other sacrifice.

The second time I went vegan lasted about 4 months. I went to a dietician and she told me that I have hyperglycemia. She wasn’t against being vegan – she was actually really surprised at how well I was eating as a vegan. But she said that I had to have a palm size of protein with each meal. Now, I know all you vegans will probably be yelling at the screen – But Bella it is so so so easy to get protein as a vegan. The thing is, yes it is but when you are being told by a professional that you need a palm size of pure protein with each meal – tofu and beans just are not enough. One you get bored, two tofu is extremely shitty on your hormones and three beans aren’t so good in the gas region….

Also when you go to school like I do and are in your last years of school like I am it is hard to find the time to even make food let alone plan out delicious and vegan meals that have all the substantial nutrients that you need.

So here I am a year later – still feeling crappy about both my body and my diet.

I seriously want to go full vegan and you can’t say that I haven’t tried.

So calling all you wonderful plant eaters – what are some tips that maybe I haven’t tried yet ?

Love,

Bella

30 Comments

    1. I know ! It is seriously so difficult because i am inlove with goats cheese ahaha but wow all the research I have done shows how awesome the lifestyle can be – wow first world problems am i right ?? xx

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’d say it’s just being patient and trust yourself that you will make the right decision. It takes time. It took me about 3 years until I was fully vegan.

    Like

  2. I want to go vegan so badly! I read the stories and hear people’s accounts and it all sounds so amazing, but as a student myself, I know I would struggle to meal prep during the school year. I’m also nervous that I won’t get all the nutrients I would need. Plus, I’m in love with cheese, so the struggle would be real.
    I think I’ll try to become pesceterian, then vegetarian, then transition into being vegan.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. its soo hard especially when you already have a bad relationship with food (like i do) so putting these “restrictions” on yourself can make you begin to hate everything you eat and the fact that you aren’t “normal” like everyone else ! yes time management is hard because you need to get all those nutrients but that means you have to make food that includes all that. Yes i think that a slow transition is a good idea πŸ™‚ xx

      Like

  3. Wow you just said everything I was thinking. When I took my environmental class and zoology class i started to learn more about the world and animals and pay more attention to them. I want to be vegan too but the thing is I’m African and living in an African house hold there is no such thing as no meat or dairy, my family lives off of that! I understand your pain

    Liked by 1 person

      1. that’s okay! I recommend just deciding to go vegan for a limited time (say, 3 weeks) and then deciding if you want to continue after that πŸ™‚ once veganism becomes a habit, going back starts to seem crazy

        Liked by 1 person

      2. i am definitely incorporating more vegan meals into my diet – and doing things like trying to only have vegan breakfasts and stuff like that πŸ™‚ its a slow journey for me ahah xx

        Like

  4. Hi, I have just wrote a post that may help you in your choice whether to be vegan. It may help, it may not.
    I also recommend vegan protein supplements or a variety of cashews and peanuts as snacks for anyone who may be concerned with protein requirements. However, I would seriously question your doctors thoughts that lack of protein is the reason for hyperglycemia. As good as doctors are in many sections of health, their nutritional knowledge is extremely limited in most cases as it is not a major part of their study. From a nutritional and biochemistry standpoint, low protein would certainly not lead to hyperglycemia.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yes, be generous with yourself! Cut out as much as you can over a period of time, with veganism as the end goal if you want it to be! πŸ™‚

    Nuts and seeds are great protein boosters, as other commenters said.

    From what I understand the thing about tofu and hormones is a myth, and you don’t have to worry about phytoestrogen unless you have thyroid issues (sorry I am new to your blog, and don’t know if that’s the case!). The Vegan RD has a great post about it. Her blog has been a very helpful resource for me!

    Also, it takes a bit more time at the outset, but letting dry beans soak 24 to 48 hours before cooking them and then putting a couple teaspoons of baking soda in the cooking water REALLY helps with the er, digestive issues. Just rinse the beans after they’re cooked so you can’t taste the baking soda.

    Plus they’re so cheap! I just cook a big pot of beans at the beginning of the week, rinse them, and then put them in individual freezer containers and thaw out one at a time as I need them. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. As someone who (like you) is a high school senior and still living at home I agree it can get annoying being the only vegan in the house or out with your friends. But you just need to remember in times like this to focus on the victims and not yourself. Sometimes it may feel like an inconvenience in your life but you just need to remember why you started in the first place! Good luck πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This is a great post! I’m also a new vegan myself. I don’t know how people can find it easy. It’s hard work! And although I never loved meat I LOVE cheese. It sure is a lot of sacrifice. Especially when you’re with other people who aren’t vegan or when you travel to somewhere new with vegan isn’t really an option in restaurants. But remember it’s a transition. It’s a process! I was vegan for a whole month and I was so proud of myself. Then I had coffee and they only offered milk or cream (I hate black coffee)…and sadly I added milk. I was upset about it for days! But then I realized…for that whole month of being vegan I have ALREADY made a difference. I need to cut myself some slack and just remembering that I am trying and I won’t give up (:

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This is a great post and well done on managing as long as you have! I’ve been vegan for three years now, so have a few tips that might help you maintain your health better! I always try to eat a varied diet, so try and pack in as many different colours of fruit and veg as possible – eat the rainbow, literally! This makes sure you’re getting a wide range of vitamins. Try and eat lots of beans, nuts and seeds as these contain essential proteins, fats and other nutrients. There’s a fantastic youtuber called Unnatural Vegan, who has a trailer on her channel about starting out vegan and how to make sure you get a varied diet. Also look up Nutrition Facts.org by Dr Greger – his YouTube channel is also full of really helpful videos.
    I hope this helps, even a little, and good luck on your journey! Just try not to beat yourself up too much if you fall off the wagon πŸ™‚ Everyone makes mistakes x

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Becoming vegan is such a process! It’s taken me almost a year to confidently say I am vegan. I started by switching out the small stuff for vegan products, gradually changing my diet so now I’m completely reliant on plant based foods. It’s difficult, so don’t be too hard on yourself. I was eating Quorn products for ages before I realised they had milk extract in them (dumb, right?!) Likewise there are a few mainstream products you might be surprised to find are naturally vegan: some biscuit brands are in the UK which made me very happy when I found out!

    Also can totally relate to feeling like a burden if invited out for dinner etc.. but then I remember that, actually I’m making the world a tiny bit better by being a nuisance about what I eat πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Admitting your failures is always a good thing! I’ve been a vegetarian for six years and then transitioned to being vegan, I ‘failed’ when I decided to go abroad for 18 months because in the circumstances I lived abroad (sometimes on the road for months, sometimes in parts of countries where there literally is nothing to eat for vegans), it was just not possible. It probably would have been possible, if I’d have been more determined. Anyway, I just went back to being vegan and I’ll see how it goes. This time I’m sure I’ll make it last. As for protein, nuts and seeds can be incorporated in almost every meal and you can even take them as a snack. That’s always helped me.. Well, what am I saying, I’m at the beginning of my journey, too. Maybe one day we’ll both be vegan and able to compare success stories.
    xx Natalie
    http://whyshelivestorun.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I’ve been vegan for about 5 months and I absolutely love it but I can understand where you are coming from feeling alienated. One of my best friends is vegan as well so we can have lunch dates where we’re on the same page, get excited about trying new places and such. I feel like if you exist simply loving the lifestyle friends of yours will see it glow through you and want to make the change too. That’s what happened to me (my friend went vegan first).

    I am moved out of my parents house so I don’t have to worry about that too much so if I were you I would just do my best. Every meal is a new meal. Eat less animal products when you can! Much love and good luck on your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

