The Messy Effect – my thoughts

Screen Shot 2016-06-04 at 7.08.21 PM

 

After watching Cartia Mallan and Emma Mercury’s I have some thoughts that I would like to share – the girls who created this movement want us to talk about it so if any of you have any thoughts please comment below.

While watching the girls talk about Messy, I felt a sense of chaos with no concrete direction. AND THAT IS TOTALLY OKAY ! That seems to be, in my perspective at least, what Messy is all about. It is about looking at your life and being able to choose what it is you want to do with it. It is about taking a step into the unknown, away from the straight and narrow. As a student who is in her last year of High School, I deal with so much anxiety about the future. I have so many dreams and ideas and goals that I want to chase after but there is something holding me back.

Society.

As shitty as it is, society tells us that we must conform to a particular life. School, University, Job, Marriage, Family, Retirement.

The thing is, all of those things are things that I want; I want to go to university, I want to have a job and I want a family. But my vision of what job I want and where I want to live and how I want to live this construct of life, is entirely different to how society wants us to.

We are told consistently to take the practical or safe options, to do a business, medical or law degree at university. To work for a bank, or a big corporation or a law firm. And it is totally 100% fine if that is what you want to do with your life ! Its the fact that society demands that we live a particular way no matter whether we want that or not.

I am so tired of being scared that I wont live a full life, that I wont actually attempt to achieve something other than societal norms. I want to do more than average, more than normal, more than expected.

This generation of youth are stuck in a world that has begun to feel comfortable in its little routine. After a century of war and pain and human civilization searching for the perfect society, we have become so focused on what is normal and what is safe.

Why do our parents, our teachers, our mentors encourage us to settle for the mundane? And what are we going to do about it?

Isobel xx

2 Comments

  1. I totally agree with everything you wrote and the messy effect is so inspiring !! I actually also made a post about it so maybe you could read it and maybe comment? I am definitely going to follow your blog. ❤ xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

